18 July 2019 | by ubhshi001 | Category: Uncategorized

Energy and Public Communication conference programme

1st Day, 24 JULY

13.30-14.00 Registration (Dalton and Joule Suite)

14.00-14.10 Welcome

Georgina Young (Science and Industry Museum)

Hiroki Shin (Science Museum/Birkbeck College)

14.10-15.10 Keynote 1 

Brian Cozen (California State University, Fresno)

‘Energy in Communication Research: Theoretical and Practical Insights’

15.10-16.40 First Session (Dalton and Joule Suite)

Public museums as sites of energy communication

Chair: Ben Russell (Science Museum)

Jan Hicks (Science and Industry Museum)

Jonathan Morgan (Electricity North West)

Ellie Swinbank (National Museum of Scotland)

Anna Adamek (Ingenium: Canada’s Museum of Science & Innovation)

16.40-17.00 Tea/Coffee (Foyer)

17.00-18.00 Keynote 2 (Dalton and Joule Suite)

Mark Atherton (Environment for Greater Manchester)

  ‘Communication – why bother?’

18.00-19.00 Film Viewing (Dalton and Joule Suite)

The Atom: A Love Affair with a talk by director Vicki Lesley

19.00- Conference Reception (Foyer)

2nd Day, 25 JULY

9.00-10.30 Second Session (Lovell Suite)

Engaging the public in energy communication: diverse spheres of interaction

Chair: Rebecca Wright (University of Northumbria)

Bradon Smith (University of Bristol) 

Wim Elving (Hanze University, the Netherlands)

Matthew Howard (Faraday Institution)

10.30-11.00 Tea/Coffee (Foyer)

The first session of the Great Energy Escape in Whitworth Suite (booking required)

11.00-13.00 Third Session (Lovell Suite)

Communication media and technology as facilitators of energy transition

Chair: Heather Chappells (University of British Columbia)

Vanessa de Luca (SUPSI, Switzerland)

Craig Morris (Renewable Energy Agency, Germany)

Marianne Heaslip (URBED Urbanism Environment and Design)

Bridget Newbery (Centre for Sustainable Energy)

13.00-14.00 Conference Lunch (Foyer)

14.00-15.30 Fourth Session (Dalton, Joule, Whitworth and Lovell Suite)

Energy communication – demonstrations

Greg Lynall (University of Liverpool) and Philippa Holloway (Author): 

‘Power Lines: creative responses to energy spaces’ (in Joule Suite)

Energy Co-op: The Great Energy Escape (in Whitworth Suite)

Wim Elving (Hanze University): We-Energy game (in Dalton Suite)

Neil Jones (10:10): Zero Carbon City Challenge (in Lovell Suite)

Vanessa de Luca (SUPSI): Social Power project demonstration (in Dalton Suite)

Chloe Uden (Art and Energy) (in Dalton Suite)

Catherine Grandclement (EDF, France) (in Dalton Suite)

15.30-15.40 Short Break (Foyer) * tea/coffee available in the foyer from 15.00.

15.40-16.30 Round Table (Lovell Suite)

Chair: Danielle Endres (University of Utah)

Jonathan Atkinson (Carbon Co-op)

Jessica Bays (UK Energy Research Centre)

Craig Morris (Renewable Energy Agency, Germany)

Jonny Sadler (Manchester Climate Change Agency)

16.30–16.35 Final Remarks (Lovell Suite)

Heather Chappells (University of British Columbia)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.