This annual prize is awarded to an outstanding undergraduate or postgraduate Birkbeck student who has excelled in contributing to the understanding of cultural policy, especially by looking at cultural flows, cultural work (including internships), and equality and justice in the cultural sector.

The prize is in honour of our dear colleague Lorraine Lim who passed away in September 2017. Dr Lim worked on cultural policy and industries from the perspective of cultural flows (conditioned by artists’ activism, censorship and cultural trade) and broadened her interest to areas such as creative labour, internship policies and networks in the cultural sector.

The prize-winning essays will be made public on this website.

The first awards were made on 8 March 2019. Details of the prize winners and their essays can be found here.

The second round of awards can be found here.

In subsequent years the first prize will be awarded at the Birkbeck graduation ceremony.

Call for submissions

We are asking tutors to nominate suitable work follows this line of enquiry in cultural policy studies. Only submissions that have already been assessed internally are eligible.

Selection criteria

  • Relevance and interest in Cultural Policy and specifically to the fields of enquiry mentioned above (0-5 marks)
  • Originality of the essay (0-5 marks)
  • Potential contribution to enhancing the knowledge pool in Cultural Policy Studies (0-5 marks)
  • Meeting of academic style guidelines, including spelling, grammar, citation and referencing (0-5 marks) 

Judging panel

The work will be judged by a panel with the following members:

  • Hye-Kyung Lee (King’s College London)
  • Sophie Hope and Simone Wesner (Arts Management team)
  • Janet McCabe and Emma Sandon (FMACS)
  • Leonard Lim (Lorraine’s brother)

Submission deadline: TBC

Committee Meeting: January 2021

Prize: One first prize of £500 p.a. and a runner up prize of £100

Open to: Birkbeck BA and MA students (college-wide)

Tutors should email this form and the nominated essay to: